The life-changing magic of tidying up, Marie Kondo

pexels-photo-108088In the last weeks I have been able to finally finish reading the book “The life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo and try out this allegedly revolutionary method of tidying up, decluttering and storing everything in your home.

Let’s speak about the book first, then I’ll be talking about my experience. In my opinion this is a valid book, because it helps unorganized people like me to tidy up, giving them a sort of structure and an order to follow when doing it. Of course it’s not the Bible of decluttering but it can surely help.

The book is divided in chapters, each chapter covering one category of objects to declutter or methods to store things properly. It’s filled with Marie Kondo’s personal experiences as well as examples of how she helped people declutter and organize their home. Everything is told by her and in her perspective, therefore we don’t find any negative or even neutral thoughts about the KonMari method. The book is easy to read and it’s a quick read (it took me months to finish just because at one point I just forgot where I put it).

The KonMari method suggests to follow this order when organizing stuff:

  1. clothing
  2. books
  3. papers
  4. komono (small miscellaneous items)
  5. sentimental items

and says you should treat your objects with respect. This means thanking your objects for their work before getting rid of them. This is something I don’t feel comfortable doing. But if you can, definitely give it a try!

Another thing I didn’t want to do was throw everything away. This seems a real waste to me. I reckon not everything can be used by other people, but I’ll be trying to resell books and a couple of clothes in good condition and I already donated everything else.

As you can see, I tried the KonMari method, but I didn’t stick to every rule. I adapted it to my own way of working and my personal thoughts and values.

Some things did work for me, though. First of all, the order to follow when sorting things. I started with books just because it was the most urgent category to declutter and I know I have no problem giving books away. At a certain point I tried to be a rebel by sorting some sentimental items. Huge mistake! I couldn’t decide what to keep and ended up keeping almost everything. So I moved on and went on following the method. At the end, when all that was left to sort were sentimental items, I could choose more easily (and without any drama).

pexels-photo-45982Marie Kondo gives also advice on how to fold and store clothes. You have to do a rectangle that can be stored vertically. According to her, you should store everything you can vertically and divided by caregory. This reduces the surfaces you can use to store other things and gives you an exact idea of how many things you own in each category. I have to say that this is a great idea, because everything is in order, but I found it difficult to store my most floppy t-shirts vertically, as they kept collapsing down. Once they were all packed together, though, it worked!

pexels-photo-26549Also, you should store the clothes you hang, hanging the longest ones at the left and the shortest ones at the right of the closet. This is not only neat to see, but allows you to store something underneath the shorter clothes.

Finally, every object in your home has to have its place to be stored, so that you can always put it away after using it and not just leave it somewhere until you find out where to store it.

Now, I hope this post wasn’t too long to read! If you want to know how I managed to get rid of a lot of my books, subscribe in the bar below and keep reading the blog!

I definitely suggest you to read the book if you plan to clean out your house, but bear in mind that not every single advice might work for you. My suggestion is to adjust to your needs those advices that make you feel uncomfortable. You might be able to follow them in the future!

Did you already tried this or other methods of tidying up? If you have other suggestions and tips, feel free to share them in the comments. I’ll be happy to know more and read about your experiences. 

Buy the book on:

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

