Let’s declutter… my books!

Some weeks ago I realized something was wrong. I live in a pretty big room and I have too much stuff!

To tell the truth, I already knew that. I just had to admit it to myself. Which I did while reading “The life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo (read my review here and how I decluttered my handbag here).

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I started reading this book back in march 2016 and marked some of the passages I found interesting. Short after that, I forgot about it until short before Christmas.

At that time I had been reading an incredible amount of books, which I kept in my room, stored almost everywhere. My library wasn’t big enough and having all those books scattered around my room without a home was messy. Very messy! I had to do something.

I already read the part of the KonMari method about tidying up books, so I gave it a go.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I wasn’t new to a good decluttering, so I started piling all my books in three categories:

  • keep
  • keep in storage
  • give away (resell or eventually donate)

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Deciding what to keep and what to give away was easy enough for me. I decided to keep all the books:

  • I read multiple times (Harry Potter in the first place),
  • I’d genuinely read again,
  • I truly liked and would recommend,
  • I haven’t already read but would read in 2017.

All the books I didn’t like too much and those I reckoned I wouldn’t read soon, ended up in a bag. Well, three bags! I’ll try to resell them and if I don’t manage that in a given amount of time, I’ll donate them.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

All the pictures in this post show my bookshelves now!

Do you like my organized, neat and pretty bookshelves? I might be doing a bookshelf tour someday… is someone interested? Let me know in the comments!

Buy “The life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo on:

Leave a Reply

