One day in the Dolomites: Cortina

Last Saturday I spent a wonderful day in Cortina d’Ampezzo with my parents, skiing and watching the Women’s Ski World Cup.

We arrived in Cortina around 9 in the morning and we immediately went skiing. The snow was beautiful and at that time there weren’t too many people on the slopes.

Around 10.30 the Ski World Cup began. It was held on the slope Olympia delle Tofane and we decided to watch it just below this point:

canalone

We then moved to the start and watch another 5 participants starting their race.

We also had the chance to go up to the Cima Tofana (3,244 m) with the cable car Freccia nel Cielo. This day was the first time in 20 years that they were able to open the cable car in winter. We had the chance to see a breathtaking view of the surrounding Dolomites. This is something words can’t describe, therefore I leave it to the pictures i took.

funivia-cima-tofana

panorama

After our adventure at high altitude, we descended and had our lunch in the town centre of Cortina, at the Ristorante 5 Torri, then went for a stroll along the main road.

Cortina is a popular winter sport resort and is well known for having hosted the Winter Olympics in 1956.

cortina

When it was time to go back home, we had a very quick glimpse of the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, maybe the most famous peaks of the Dolomites.

tre-cime-lavaredo

Then, we decided we would stop at the Lake Braies (or Pragser Wildsee in German, in South Tyrol) as it was on our way home and I couldn’t recall ever seeing it. The lake was frozen and covered in snow and we could walk on it.

dsc_0020

The Lake Braies is well known for its greenish-blue colours in summer and for being the set of the Italian television series “Un passo dal cielo“, starring Terence Hill.

dsc_0019
The hotel on the shore

I don’t know how, but during this day I also managed to catch a cold. I just can say that it was totally worth it, though!

What do you think about my day in Cortina? Did you ever see the Dolomites? Let me know in the comments below!

If you want to follow my adventure (almost) in real-time, follow me on Instagram.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tobias Mann says:

    Beautiful photos. I’ve never been much of a skier but I have sent myself hurdling down a bluff or two. More so I love the snow capped mountains and snowshoeing. I’m much better at not falling down in snowshoes than I am on skis.

    Like

    1. Ellis says:

      Thank you! I am better in snowshoes as well: I’m no professional skier or snowboarder, but I have fun and that what matters after all 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

