Peculiar things around the world | Police station in London

First of all, why don’t you go and follow me on Instagram & like my Facebook page?! Don’t forget to subscribe to this blog in the bar down below!

Every time I travel, I always hope I will find something curious and peculiar, something you would most probably find in an old fantasy book rather than in a tourist book. There are a couple of such things scattered around the town where I live and I like to discover there are plenty more on planet Earth.

And because it is a pity not giving them much attention, as the other tourist attractions, I will start a series of posts where I’ll share with you all the strange things I saw.

img_2547

This time, I would like to introduce you to Britain’s smallest police station! It is located on the south-east corner of Trafalgar Square, London.

Looking towards the facade of the British Museum, go straight to the right of the square, where a small wall divides the sidewalk from the square. There, under a light, you’ll find the police station.

It was built in 1926 and it served as a temporary prison for people who got arrested or as a shelter for the policeman who had to watch over Trafalgar Square. Today the box is no longer used as a police station.

snapseed-3

[…] installed was a direct phone line back to Scotland Yard in case reinforcements were needed in times of trouble. In fact, whenever the police phone was picked up, the ornamental light fitting at the top of the box started to flash, alerting any nearby officers on duty that trouble was near.

Are there strange and peculiar things where you live? Share information in the comments! I’d like to know more… 

Historical information from: www.historic-uk.com

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

