101 Dalmatians

I just read the book “The Hundred and One Dalmatians” by Dodie Smith (with illustrations by Alex T. Smith) and I couldn’t wait to write my review.

Cruella de Vil is enough to frighten the spots off a Dalmatian pup. But when she steals a whole family of them, the puppies’ parents, Pongo and Missus, lose no time in mounting a daring rescue mission.

Will they be in time to thwart Cruella’s evil scheme, or have they bitten off more than they can chew?

First of all: I only knew the Disney’s version of the story before reading the book. I never heard any other version, so I was pleased to read this one and to discover there are some nice differences from the Disney animated movie.

My spoiler free review is: I liked it! I found it to be a very nice book for children and grown-ups who want to read a “classic” story. Very enjoyable, really. The only character I didn’t like, though, was Missis: always worried and a little dull. Pongo is described as such an intelligent dog, and I wonder: how can he be married with a slow dog like Missis?

But anyways…

There are some differences between the book and the Disney animated movie and here are two of them:

  • First of all, in the book, there are 4 grown-up dogs: Pongo and Missis, Perdita and Prince, while in the movie not only Perdita and Prince are totally left out, but Missis is named Perdita.
  • Then, in the book is written that Roger works for the government, which explains his economic wealth and the fact that he can afford to maintain 101 dogs.

I also loved the illustrations. I chose this edition among the others because of them! Just check out the Twilight Barking (when Pongo delivers the sad news to the dogs in London and asks for information and help) drawing: can you spot some royal corgi? I found it hilarious!


Overall, I liked the book and the slight differences didn’t bother me at all. In fact, they made the story a little more interesting, being that I already knew it.

Here is my review on Goodreads:

The Hundred and One DalmatiansThe Hundred and One Dalmatians by Dodie Smith

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Can you suggest other book-to-(Disney)-movie adaptations? What should I read next? Leave me a comment below!

Buy this book on Amazon.co.ukAmazon.co.uk | Bookdepository

Leave a Reply

