Read “The Circle” with me

The movie “The Circle” has just come out and I wanted to read the book by Dave Eggers before watching the movie.

I have mixed feelings about the book. The idea is great, I was excited to read about a totalitarian company controlling all the information (and people’s choices). But then it developed in a way that I didn’t like.

Warning: spoilers ahead!

The main character, Mae, is a 24-years-old girl who never grew up from her teen years. Stubborn and bossy, she wants to impose her thoughts over others’ without respecting their feelings and choices. I couldn’t stand her.

Moreover, the Circle (a sort of Facebook + Twitter + everything else) is becoming the only company in the world controlling information, identities, etc. And just a couple of politicians and a handful of people seem to be against it. It wouldn’t happen like this in reality. Right now there are a lot of people against Facebook, surveillance cameras in the cities, even Google street view! There could have been room for an interesting conflict (but no)…

Finally, this conflict could have been developed in Mae’s mind and actions at the end of the book, but again: no. The epilog is a mere two pages. A book of hundreds and hundreds of pages gets two pages for an ending! A flat end, in my opinion. Nothing happens: Mae has her idea and continues believing in that. The end.

I gave the book 3/5 stars. I liked the idea but didn’t love the book overall.

I still want to watch the movie, but I think I won’t go to the cinema for that.

The CircleThe Circle by Dave Eggers

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Did you read The Circle? Or watched the movie? What do you think? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

